The theme of my work this semester is progression. My theme describes the progression of the development of my work from the beginning to the end of the semester. My work has become more and more developed since the beginning of the semester because I have put more and more time into my work giving my projects more precision and detail.

                My portfolio consists of pencil drawings, acrylic paintings, collages, portraits and multi-media projects. My multi- media projects are mainly a mixture of acrylic paint with collages such as my big tree painting on a canvas. The majority of the canvas is painted with accents of news print for details such as the foliage on the tree and the bark.

                I made my drawings using pencil and regular sketching paper. My sketches are mostly of people, and portraits. My acrylic paintings are all on canvas’s. I made the majority of my colors by mixing primary colors so they are all very precise. My multi-media paintings and projects were my favorite projects to make. My favorite set of projects I have made/am still working on are my canvas ink transfers. I coat the entire canvas with acrylic paint and then place my picture (laser copy) face down on the paint and let it dry, then spritz the picture with water and rub the paper off until only the ink from the picture is remaining on the canvas.         

                I chose my theme because I feel like it displays the bulk of my work over the semester the best. It successfully shows the essence of my work and the progression of the quality of my work. My work at the beginning of the semester is rushed and sloppy looking compared to my work at this point of the year. I was able to improve my work by spending more time on my projects outside of class to perfect the finishing details on my work to give it a finished look.

                My theme of progression displays my work over the semester in a way that you can look at my portfolio and notice the differences from my work at the beginning and end of the year, especially through the quality. The quality of my work is better now than it was in the beginging of the year because I have gotten better at managing my time in class and also because of some of the techniques that I have learned in class, including brush techniques, color mixing techniques, and sketching techniques.




Leave a Reply.